Chiropractic is a five-year university study. The first two years is very similar to the study of medicine. Some of the subjects taught include anatomy, neurology, physiology, biochemistry and biomechanics. Then there is more attention to the specific chiropractic subjects such as X-ray diagnosis and chiropractic treatment techniques.

Most Dutch chiropractors are trained in the Anglo European College of Chiropractic in Bournemouth, England. The rest are graduates of universities in America, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The chiropractic program will culminate in the degree of Master of Science (MSc), but also the degree of Doctor of Chiropractic (DC).